Communication Skills Mentoring Program and Mentors

About the CSMP

The AAOS Patient Safety Committee is responsible for the CSMP.

Regional Mentor Locations

Select a state to contact a mentor in your region.

 Program Leader

Name City, State Title
Dwight W Burney III, MD

Albuquerque, NM Head, Section on Safety EducationPatient Safety Committee


Mentors and Locations

Eastern Region
John W Blute Jr, MD Concord, MA
James C Farmer, MD New York, NY
Gary E Friedlaender, MD New Haven, CT
Mark C Gebhardt, MD Boston, MA
John D Kelly IV, MD Pennsylvania, PA
Paul Levin, MD Bronx, NY
John D Lubahn, MD, MD Erie, PA
Michael Marks, MD, MBA Norwalk, CT
Mary I O'Connor, MDNew Haven, CT 
Donna P Phillips, MD New York, NY
Gregory Sirounian, MDGarden City, NY 
Edward C Tanner, MD Rochester, NY


Frances A Farley, MD Ann Arbor, MI
Richard Allen Geline, MD Glenview, IL
James A Hill, MD Chicago, IL
Monica Kogan, MDWilmette, IL 
Patricia A Kolowich, MD Detroit, MI
John F Sarwark, MD Chicago, IL
Richard D Schmidt, MD Edina, MN
Kimberly J Templeton, MD Kansas City, KS


S Terry Canale, MD Germantown, TN
John L Eady, MD Columbia, SC
Howard R Epps, MD Houston, TX
Maureen A Finnegan, MD Dallas, TX
David Richardson, MD Memphis, TN 
Scott Beecher Scutchfield, MD Danville, KY
Joe Wilkinson, MDSan Angelo, TX 
Andrew Matthew Wong, MD Tallahassee, FL
Michele M Zembo, MD, MBA New Orleans, LA


Dwight W Burney III, MDAlbuquerque, NM
Robert E Eilert, MDCentennial, CO 
Ramon L Jimenez, MD Monterey, CA
Vicki Kalen, MD Tucson, AZ
Todd Soung Kim, MDBurlingame, CA 
Peter J Mandell, MD Burlingame, CA
Kathryn Schabel, MDPortland, OR 
Naomi Shields, MDWichita, KS
John R Tongue, MD Tualatin, OR