AAOS Member Recognition Awards

The 2020 awards nomination period is now open.
See individual descriptions for guidelines, criteria and deadline dates.

Diversity Award

The Diversity Award recognizes living Academy Fellows and Emeritus members who have distinguished themselves through their outstanding commitment to making orthopaedics more representative of and accessible to the diverse population it serves.

Nominations due Fri., June 14, 2019.

Read about the 2019 Diversity Award winner, Dr. Michael L. Parks, and his work.

Read about all past Diversity Award winners.

Humanitarian Award

The Humanitarian Award recognizes living Fellows, International, and Emeritus members of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons who have distinguished themselves through outstanding musculoskeletal-related humanitarian activities in the United States or abroad.

Nomination period closed Fri., May 17, 2019.

Candidate form submissions due Fri., June 14, 2019.

Read about the 2019 Humanitarian Award recipient, Dr. Samer Attar, and his work.

Read about all past Humanitarian Award winners.

Tipton Leadership Award

The Tipton Leadership Award recognizes living AAOS Fellows or Candidate Members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities that have led to benefits for the orthopaedic community, patients and/or the American public.

Nominations due Fri., June 14, 2019.

Read about the 2019 Tipton Leadership Award recipient, Dr. Dana C. Covey, and his work.

Read about all past Tipton Award winners.

Read the AAOS Awards Policy.

AAOS Achievement Award Program

The spirit of this recognition program is to encourage and celebrate active volunteer involvement by our members. We have established this Achievement Award Program to recognize your participation in our programs and elsewhere in orthopaedics. We hope to encourage and enhance individual growth of our members and to say thanks for their many contributions to education, research and advocacy in orthopaedics.